Making Mozarella At Home

I was amazed how easy it is to actually make Mozarella — that is , from store bought cow’s milk. If you want to do the buffalo kind, good luck. Firs you have to find a buffalo and then try to milk it.

My Mozarella

My Mozarella

With store bought cow’s milk, Mozarella is easy to make in just an hour!

Check out this recipe for the basics. You can get everything you need in most cities in the US or you can order the citric acid and rennet from Home Cheese Making .

What’s amazing is that when you get a nice curd it is still soft, mushy, and white like most other cheese curds but then, when you dunk the curds back in the boiling whey (I don’t use a microwave) and begin pulling it and stretching it, it turns into Mozarella. The moment you first feel the texture changing into that stretchy, flaky, mozarella, is fantastic.

I made my first mozarella into little balls, soaked them in olive oil and hot pepper flakes in a few leftover take-out tupperware tubs and gave them to a few friends. They didn’t want to try it at first — they were nervous about dairy, but after they did, they keep asking for more…

Food  Drink & Cooking Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

3 responses to “Making Mozarella At Home

  1. Avi – this is great! I’ve been making my own mozzarella for a few months now. I love it! I can’t wait to hear how your cheddar turns out.

  2. Terri Jacobson

    Hey Avi,
    Your mom sent me the link to your blog, and I think you’ve inspired me to try some homemade cheese myself. Love the idea of easy to make mozzerella – especially with the lovely basil I’m growing, the fresh tomatoes from the vine and my own special balsamic french vinegarette. Thanks for the recipe – will let you know if I have success.

    Next time you’re in Atlanta visiting, bring something yummy for us to taste!

    • cheesenbread

      Terri,
      You should definitely try the mozarella. It’s so easy to make and tastes better than anything store-bought. I hope it works.

Leave a Reply

