Is My Sour-Dough Starter Starting?

I’ve been following the directions for several days and have a nice liquidy mess with lots of bubbles, but I don’t think my sour-dough starter is growing. It’s supposed to start rising in its container and mine seems to be bubbly and beery but is definitely not rising.

Like everything else with good bread and cheese, it takes time and patience — I’m learning to control my need for instant results.

I’m going to feed the sucker for another 3 or 4 days and see where it goes. I’ll keep you updated and hopefully will have my own sour-dough “pet” soon and will then move on to making bread with it. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about , check out this cool link on sour-dough starters.)

Food  Drink & Cooking Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

One response to “Is My Sour-Dough Starter Starting?

  1. It sounds to me like it is fermenting as it should, but has a high water to flour ratio. Try making it thicker by doubling its volume and adding more flour to the mix this time.

Leave a Reply

